Nikitas J. Zervanos Outstanding Program Director Award

This award is jointly sponsored by the American Academy of Family Physicians and the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors. It recognizes a family medicine residency director who has demonstrated leadership and advancement of the specialty, served as a mentor to residents/medical students, and served the community as well as the organizations of the family of family medicine. The award recipient is honored at PDW and RPS: A Residency Education Symposium. If you have questions or need more information, please contact Susan Quigg, Administrative Coordinator, at the AAFP at (800) 274-2237, ext. 6705, or by e-mail at

List of Past Recipients(1 page PDF)

Nominations from:

Family Medicine Residency Directors, Faculty, Residents, or a Constituent Chapter of the AAFP

Nominations to:

AFMRD Board of Directors and AAFP Commission on Education

Application must be completed and supporting documents can be uploaded at:

Nominations by:

The 2014 nomination period will open June 5, 2013 and close on August 23, 2013

Approved by:

AAFP Board of Directors, AFMRD Board of Directors, and AAFP Commission on Education

Presented at:

PDW and RPS: A Residency Education Symposium*

*Travel expenses are not provided.