Main Stage and Featured Presenters

Opening Main Stage Session

Thursday | 9:30 a.m.
Music Hall

Health is Primary for Students and Residents

Panelists: Thomas Cornwell, MD, FAAFP; Manisha Sharma, MD; and Karen Smith, MD, FAAFP
Moderator: Lauren Hughes, MD, MPH, MSc, FAAFP

The session will provide an overview of the Health is Primary campaign and spotlight three family physicians from around the country who are innovating and transforming primary care delivery.  Panelists will discuss how they are working to achieve the "quadruple" aim of better health, better quality, lower cost and joy of practice.

Friday Main Stage Panel Session

Friday | 8:30 a.m.
Music Hall

Practicing Excellence: The Why and What of Becoming a Great Clinician

Presenter: Stephen Beeson, MD

In this presentation Dr. Beeson reviews what it means to be a physician that creates impact, makes a difference, inspires others, and participates in making care better. He will profile the highly effective physician and the benefits that come to patients, teams, and physicians by becoming better, continuously learning, and leading the team.

Closing Main Stage

Saturday | 1:00 p.m.
Music Hall

Family Physicians: Yesterday's Foundation, Tomorrow's Future

Presenter: Robert Wergin, MD, FAAFP

AAFP President Dr. Robert Wergin will share insights on the conference theme "Family Physicians: Yesterday's Foundation, Tomorrow's Future."

Featured Workshop Presenters

Oscar Lovelace, Jr., MD

Thursday | 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Room 2211

Caring for the Community

The 2015 AAFP Family Physician of the Year will share his personal experience and insights on how to successfully care for a community. Dr. Lovelace started Lovelace Family Medicine in 1988 in Prosperity, South Carolina.

Robert Wergin, MD, FAAFP

Friday | 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.
Room 2215B

Advocating for Health Care Reform: AAFP Initiatives

Dr. Wergin, the 2015 AAFP President, practices the full spectrum of family medicine at the Milford (Neb.) Family Practice Center from obstetrics to geriatrics. He also serves as medical director of Crest View Care Center. Dr. Wergin received the Nebraska Family Physician of the Year award in 2002, and Nebraska Nursing Home Medical Director of the Year in 2012.