John G. Walsh Award for Lifetime Contributions to Family Medicine

Created: 1973, Revised 2003
Previously: John G. Walsh Award

This award honors those individuals whose dedication and effective leadership has furthered the development of family medicine. It recognizes long-term dedication, rather than any single significant contribution, and effective leadership toward furthering the development of family medicine. Designed to be the highest honor presented by the AAFP, with the exception of honorary membership. The award will not necessarily be granted on a regular basis, but will be awarded at the discretion of the Board.

It is not restricted to members or physicians. If you have any questions or need more information, please contact AAFP at (913) 906-6397, or

View past recipients(376 KB PDF)


The late Dr. John Walsh, for whom the award is named, devoted his career to family medicine. He distinguished himself by becoming the first individual ever to hold the presidency of three major family medicine organizations: the American Academy of Family Physicians, the American Board of Family Practice (now the American Board of Family Medicine) and the Family Health Foundation of America (now the AAFP Foundation).

Nominations from:

AAFP Board of Directors

Nominations to:

AAFP Board of Directors

Nominations by:

March 1

Presented at:

Congress of Delegates*

*Travel expenses are provided. See AAFP Travel Guidelines for Award recipients.