FMIG Network Program of Excellence Award



Applications for the 2019 cycle are closed.

For more than 10 years, the AAFP Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) Network has recognized FMIGs with the Program of Excellence Award for their efforts to stimulate student interest in family medicine and family medicine programming.

FMIGs are active at nearly every medical school across the country. The Program of Excellence Award aims to celebrate the contributions these groups make to the specialty of family medicine by honoring a variety of applicant types. Some programs have an established record of high achievement and strong advising and support, while other programs may be new to their campus or have a defined area of focus throughout the year. The AAFP is proud to recognize the unique achievements of all such FMIGs through the Program of Excellence Award.  


Program of Excellence Award winners will be recognized at the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students July 25-27, 2019, in Kansas City. All FMIG leaders and members from award-winning FMIGs will be invited to the stage during the FMIG Network breakfast and will be presented with a plaque to display back at school.

Additionally, two winning schools will receive a $600 cash prize each.

  • One cash prize will be awarded to a school that shows consistent excellence, being a consistent and historical winner of this award and continuing to excel and improve.
  • A second cash prize will be awarded to an FMIG from an institution that is not a historical winner of the Program of Excellence Awards, and instead is making great strides in a different environment. This could be a school with a single innovative and exemplary program or initiative, or a new school, or an FMIG that has been dormant for many years and is being relaunched, or great improvement in FMIG activity, or efforts to promote family medicine in an environment that is less supportive of primary care.

Prize winners will be selected by a panel of judges reviewing blinded applications.


Family medicine interest groups are eligible to apply if:

  • The FMIG is at a U.S. allopathic or osteopathic medical school
  • The FMIG is located at a U.S. clinical training site (including FMIGs with student members or leaders from multiple U.S. or international medical schools)
  • The FMIG is at an international medical school that contributes significantly to the U.S. family medicine workforce

An interest group does not need to be called an FMIG to be considered for an award, but its primary mission must be to promote and educate students on family medicine.  

To win a Program of Excellence Award, an FMIG must demonstrate that it is well-rounded with competency in a number of key areas, including:

  • FMIG structure and operation
  • Community service
  • Exposing students to family medicine and family physicians
  • Promoting the value of family medicine as primary care
  • Professional development
  • Measures of success

The FMIG must also illustrate significant changes or enhancements -- what was learned from the previous years' activities, what new innovations have been or will be developed, and what elements of programming were modified to meet the needs of members.

Awards are given in two segments:

  • Overall Awards: Ten overall Program of Excellence Award winners will be chosen based on demonstration of well-rounded, exemplary FMIG activity and operation. These FMIGs address all aspects of the key award areas explained above.
  • Special Consideration or Categorical Awards: These are FMIGs who demonstrate excellence in one area, or who qualify for special consideration because they are a first-time applicant or an FMIG that has overcome significant obstacles. Examples of special consideration or categorical awards are:
    • Excellence in Community Service
    • Excellence in Professional Development
    • Excellence in Exposure to Family Medicine and Family Physicians
    • Excellence in Promoting the Value of Family Medicine as Primary Care
    • First-Time Applicant
    • Most Improved FMIG

Each FMIG may apply for an overall or a special consideration/categorical award. Applicants for the overall award that are not chosen as overall winners are eligible for special consideration/categorical awards at the discretion of the Program of Excellence Award judging panel. Applicants for special consideration/categorical awards are not eligible for overall awards. The application form must be used for submission. Any other formats will not be accepted.

How to Apply

To apply for a PoE Award, choose either the Overall or Categorical application form below and follow the instructions in the form. It is highly recommended that all writing and editing be completed in a shared document (like a Google Document) or in Word, especially if multiple people are contributing to or reviewing the application material. This approach will prevent any information from being lost in the event that changes to the application PDF do not properly save. When all writing is complete, transfer the information into the appropriate application form and submit.

Applications are not currently being accepted. The next application cycle will open in January 2020. The application forms linked below are provided as examples only.

Click here to download a sample Overall Awards application form.(11 page PDF)

Click here to download a sample Categorical Awards application form.(7 page PDF)


family medicine interest groups

Strengthen Your FMIG

Discover the wide variety of tools, resources, and materials available from the AAFP for your Family Medicine Interest Group.