Nikitas J. Zervanos Outstanding Program Director Award

This award is jointly sponsored by the American Academy of Family Physicians and the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors. It recognizes a family medicine residency director who has demonstrated leadership and advancement of the specialty, served as a mentor to residents/medical students, and served the community as well as the organizations of the family of family medicine. The award recipient is honored at PDW and RPS Residency Education Symposium. If you have questions or need more information, please contact Kathleen Ingraham, Online & Emerging Specialist, at the AAFP at (913) 906-6357, or by e-mail at

View past recipients(368 KB PDF)

Nominations from:

Family Medicine Residency Directors, Faculty, Residents, or a Constituent Chapter of the AAFP

Nominations to:

AFMRD Board of Directors and AAFP Commission on Education

Application must be completed and supporting documents can be uploaded at:

Nominations by:

The nomination period for the 2021 award will open July 2020.

Approved by:

AAFP Board of Directors, AFMRD Board of Directors, and AAFP Commission on Education

Presented at:

PDW and RPS Residency Education Symposium*

*Travel expenses are not provided.