• Patient Counseling and IUDs (Intrauterine Devices)

    Information provided by Bayer

    Bayer

    The CDC and Office of Population Affairs1 recommend that clinicians counsel patients on all their options, including IUDs and implants, if medically appropriate. A suggested framework for quality counseling includes:

    • Establishing and maintaining rapport with the patient
    • Assessing the patient’s needs and personalizing discussions accordingly
    • Working interactively to establish a plan
    • Providing information that can be understood and retained, and
    • Confirming patient understanding

    Bayer offers three IUD options: Kyleena® (levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine system) 19.5mg, Mirena® (levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine system) 52mg, and Skyla® (levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine system) 13.5mg.

    To help clinicians stay up to date with clinical information about Kyleena, Mirena, and Skyla, Bayer Medical Affairs offers recurring virtual training programs. These programs provide an overview of product safety, efficacy, and appropriate patient selection. Having knowledge about all available options, including Bayer’s IUDs, allows family physicians to have more informed patient-clinician discussions, in alignment with the CDC’s counseling framework

    Each educational training program includes a clinical webinar, followed by review and practice with Bayer IUDs, using materials sent ahead of time.  

    No pre-registration is needed for these 1-hour programs, which are held:

    First Wednesday of each month: 12 pm Eastern / 11 am Central / 10 am Mountain / 9 am Pacific
    Third Wednesday of each month: 3 pm Eastern / 2 pm Central / 1 pm Mountain / 12 pm Pacific
    Meeting Access:  www.zoom.com / meeting ID #: 942-540-6711 / password: 5185

    To request an Educational Kit with materials you can use during the program, please fill in your shipping address using this link. Requestors will receive a tracking number within 1 week after entering their shipping information, and kits may take up to 10 days to arrive.

    Consider adding this information to your calendar after making your kit request so you have easy access to the meeting information at the appropriate time.

    In addition to these recurring programs, educational resources and videos about Bayer’s IUDs are available at go.bayer.com/BayerIUDResources.

    Reference

    1. Gavin et al., MMWR Recomm Rep. 2014 Apr 25;63(RR-04):1-54. Updated in 2017.

    Disclaimer

    The posting of sponsored information and content on this page should not be considered an AAFP endorsement or recommendation of the sponsor's products, services, policies, or procedures. The information and opinions expressed on this page are those of the paid sponsors and do not necessarily reflect the view of the AAFP. The AAFP is not responsible for the content of third-party websites linked from this page; moreover, any links on this page to third-party websites where goods or services are advertised are not endorsements or recommendations by the AAFP of the third-party sites, goods, or services.