Information Architecture

There are five levels of information on the site. Each inherits information from the level above.

Level 1 (Category Page Template):

This is the category page for each section. Examples include all pages in the top navigation. These pages are the jumping off point of each section.

Left Nav: No
User can visit page: Yes

Level 2 (Site Divider Page Template, a.k.a "Drawer"): 

This level is the most confusing level. These pages are not actually pages that a user can visit, but are used to organize lower-level pages into content "drawers." These drawers are used to group like content together, both on the category page and in the left navigation. If you were to try to visit this page directly, you would be redirected to the parent category page.

Left Nav: No
User can visit page: No
Note: In some cases, level two is an actual content page. This is the exception.

Level 3, 4, 5 (Content Page Templates):

These pages house the actual site content. The website does not allow for more than 5 levels of content in the left navigation. Content housed deeper than five levels will not appear in any navigation. Strive to organize the content so as to use fewer than five levels.

Left Nav: Yes
User can visit page: Yes

Micro sites:

In certain cases, utilies micro sites, where the header and footer are overwritten and the structure deviates from the standards listed above. Microsites typically have the following IA:

  • Level 0 = home page
  • Level 1 = category page
  • Level 2 = content page (instead of drawer)
  • Levels 3,4,5 = content pages