CME Faculty Recognition

AAFP CME recognizes faculty for their excellence in teaching and service to our learners. These new awards were determined from scores and feedback from learners attending Family Medicine Experience (FMX) annual meeting and national live activities taking place throughout the United States in 2017. These awards were presented during the 2018 FMX in New Orleans.

Congratulations to the following faculty.


Outstanding Faculty Award

David Glenn Weismiller, MD, ScM, FAAFP
Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine, University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Medicine




Exemplary Service Award - Above and Beyond

David Kassop, MD, FACC, FACP
Chief of Cardiology Service, Department of Medicine/Director of Continuing Medical Education, Womack Army Medical Center, Fort Bragg, North Carolina; Assistant Professor in Medicine, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (USUHS), Bethesda, Maryland; Adjunct Faculty, Womack Family Medicine Residency, Fort Bragg, North Carolina



National Live Activities

Outstanding Faculty Award

Timothy R. Brown, PharmD, BCACP, FASHP
Director of Clinical Pharmacotherapy/Pharmacotherapy Specialist, Center for Family Medicine/Cleveland Clinic Akron General, Ohio; Professor, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Rootstown




Exemplary Service Award - Above and Beyond

Jonathon Firnhaber, MD, FAAFP
Associate Professor, Residency Director, Department of Family Medicine, Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University, Greenville, North Carolina





Chair of the Year Award

Eddie Needham, MD, FAAFP
Program Director and Academic Chairman, Florida Hospital Family Medicine Residency; Associate Professor, University of Central Florida College of Medicine; Clinical Associate Professor, Florida State University College of Medicine