

February 5, 2021

The Honorable Ron Wyden Chair Committee on Finance Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mike Crapo **Ranking Member Committee on Finance** Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Patty Murray Chair Health, Education, Labor, Pension Committee Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Richard Burr **Ranking Member** Health, Education, Labor, Pension Committee Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman, Chairwoman, and Ranking Members:

On behalf of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), representing more than 136,700 family physicians, residents, and medical students across the country, I write to offer support for the nomination of Xavier Becerra to serve as Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).

Mr. Becerra has long been a champion of ensuring all Americans have access to high-quality, affordable health care. As a member of Congress, Representative Becerra helped to pass the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and eliminate the flawed Medicare Sustainable Growth Rate. As Attorney General of California, he defended the ACA against legal challenges in the case of Texas v. United States. The AAFP supports this shared vision for meaningful and affordable health care coverage and stands ready to work with Mr. Becerra to further build on the ACA's successes and further improve our health care system in his new role with HHS.

As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to threaten our communities, swift action to confirm the Secretary of HHS is urgently needed to ensure the agency is best-equipped to respond to the pandemic. Physicians and patients alike are looking to HHS for clear public health guidance, and they are counting on HHS to obtain and deliver COVID-19 vaccines to save lives and keep our communities healthy.

Thank you for the opportunity to offer our support for the nomination of Mr. Becerra for HHS Secretary. If you have additional questions, please reach out to David Tully, Director of Government Relations, at dtully@aafp.org.

Sincerely,

President Ada Stewart, MD Columbia, SC

Speaker

Oregon, WI

President-elect Sterling Ransone, MD Deltaville, VA

Vice Speaker Alan Schwartzstein, MD Russell Kohl, MD Stilwell, KS

Gary LeRoy, MD Dayton, OH

Board Chair

Executive Vice President R. Shawn Martin Leawood, KS

Directors

James Ellzy, MD, Washington, DC Dennis Gingrich, MD, Hershey, PA Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD, Bay Shore, NY Andrew Carroll, MD, Chandler, AZ Steven Furr, MD, Jackson, AL Margot Savoy, MD, Media, PA

STRONG MEDICINE FOR AMERICA

Jennifer Brull, MD, Plainville, KS Mary Campagnolo, MD, Borderntown, NJ Todd Shaffer, MD, Lee's Summit, MO Danielle Carter, MD (New Physician Member), Jacksonville, FL Anna Askari, MD (Resident Member), Palm Desert, CA Cynthia Ciccotelli (Student Member), Yardley, PA

1133 CONNECTICUT AVE., N.W., STE. 1100 | WASHINGTON, DC 20036-4305 | (800) 794-7481 | (202) 232-9033

Lary X. Le Roy, MD, FAAFP

Gary L. LeRoy, MD, FAAFP Board Chair, American Academy of Family Physicians

President Ada Stewart, MD Columbia, SC

President-elect Sterling Ransone, MD Deltaville, VA

Stilwell, KS

Speaker Alan Schwartzstein, MD Oregon, WI

Gary LeRoy, MD Dayton, OH Vice Speaker Russell Kohl, MD

Executive Vice President R. Shawn Martin Leawood, KS

Directors James Ellzy, MD, Washington, DC Dennis Gingrich, MD, Hershey, PA Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD, Bay Shore, NY Andrew Carroll, MD, Chandler, AZ Steven Furr, MD, Jackson, AL Margot Savoy, MD, Media, PA

STRONG MEDICINE FOR AMERICA

Jennifer Brull, MD, Plainville, KS Mary Campagnolo, MD, *Borderntown, NJ* Todd Shaffer, MD, *Lee's Summit, MO* Danielle Carter, MD (New Physician Member), Jacksonville, FL Anna Askari, MD (Resident Member), Palm Desert, CA Cynthia Ciccotelli (Student Member), Yardley, PA

1133 CONNECTICUT AVE., N.W., STE. 1100 | WASHINGTON, DC 20036-4305 | (800) 794-7481 | (202) 232-9033

Board Chair