

August 25, 2021

The Honorable Cindy Axne U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ron Kind U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Darin LaHood U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Terri Sewell U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Adrian Smith U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Representatives Axne, Kind, LaHood, Sewell, and Smith:

On behalf of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) and the 133,500 family physicians and medical students across the country we represent, I write to offer our support for the Keep Physicians Serving Patients Act of 2021.

As introduced, this bill would improve the accuracy of and update the data used to calculate Medicare's practice expense (PE) and physician work geographic practice cost indexes (GPCIs). Your legislation would help address the shortage of physicians practicing in rural areas and thereby improve access to Medicare services for rural patients.

The AAFP supports the elimination of all geographic adjustment factors from the Medicare Physician Fee Schedule except for those designed to achieve a specific public policy goal (e.g., to encourage physicians to practice in underserved areas). GPCI floors reduce the geographic variations in Medicare payments, a step toward the elimination of geographic modifiers for which the AAFP advocates. We are particularly pleased your legislation will increase the physician wage and practice expense GPCIs to 1.0 for any locality that would otherwise have an index value below that level.

The AAFP stands ready to work with your office to support passage of this important legislation and we appreciate the opportunity to comment. If you have any additional questions, please contact Erica Cischke. Senior Manager of Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, at ecischke@aafp.org.

Sincerely,

Gary L. LeRoy, MD, FAAFP

Board Chair, American Academy of Family Physicians

Lang & Le Koy, MD, FAAFP

President Ada Stewart, MD Columbia, SC

Speaker Alan Schwartzstein, MD Oregon, WI

President-elect Sterling Ransone, MD Deltaville, VA

Vice Speaker Russell Kohl, MD Stilwell, KS

Board Chair Gary LeRoy, MD Dayton, OH

R. Shawn Martin Leawood, KS

Directors James Ellzy, MD, Washington, DC Dennis Gingrich, MD, Hershey, PA Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD, Bay Shore, NY Executive Vice President Andrew Carroll, MD, Chandler, AZ Steven Furr, MD, Jackson, AL Margot Savoy, MD, Media, PA

STRONG MEDICINE FOR AMERICA

Jennifer Brull, MD, Plainville, KS Mary Campagnolo, MD, Borderntown, NJ Todd Shaffer, MD, Lee's Summit, MO Danielle Carter, MD (New Physician Member), Jacksonville, FL Anna Askari, MD (Resident Member), Palm Desert, CA Cynthia Ciccotelli (Student Member), Yardley, PA