

August 12, 2019

The Honorable Earl Blumenauer U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Jason Smith U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representatives Rep. Blumenauer & Smith:

On behalf of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), which represents 134,600 family physicians and medical students across the country, I write to thank you for introducing the Primary Care Enhancement Act of 2019 (H.R. 3708). The AAFP supports direct primary care (DPC) and sees it as a model of care that provides a pathway to continuous, comprehensive and coordinated primary care for patients. However, there are identified barriers that may prevent some patients from realizing the full potential of the DPC model.

One of those barriers is the prohibition on the permissible use of health savings accounts (HSAs) funds to pay for participation in a DPC practice. Under existing interpretation of the Internal Revenue Code, patients with HSAs are prohibited from engaging in DPC arrangements with a family physician or other primary-care physician. Your legislation would remove these current legal barriers that prevent patients with HSAs from receiving care from family physicians practicing in a DPC model.

A growing number of family physicians are choosing to practice in the DPC model and patient demand for DPC practices is growing. Additionally, employers and labor unions are driving growth in the model, further necessitating changes in law that allow patients to benefit from this emerging primary care delivery model. The AAFP is eager to work with you to enact your bill into law, thus allowing our members practicing in a DPC model the opportunity to engage with more individuals and provide a longitudinal primary care home to their patients.

We applaud your leadership on this important issue, and we are pleased to support H.R. 3708. If you or your staff would like to discuss this with the AAFP further, please do not hesitate to contact Bethany Burk at bburk@aafp.org.

Sincerely,

Michael Mungue MD

Michael Munger, MD, FAAFP **Board Chair**

President John Cullen, MD Valdez, AK

Alan Schwartzstein, MD

Speaker

Oregon, WI

President-elect Gary LeRoy, MD Dayton, OH

Vice Speaker Russell Kohl, MD Stilwell, KS

Executive Vice President Douglas E. Henley, MD Leawood, KS

Board Chair

Michael Munger, MD

Overland Park, KS

Directors Robert Raspa, MD, Orange Park, FL Leonard Reeves, MD, Rome, GA Ada Stewart, MD, Columbia, SC Sterling Ransone, MD, Deltaville, VA Windel Stracener, MD, Richmond, IN Erica Swegler MD, Austin, TX

STRONG MEDICINE FOR AMERICA

James Ellzy, MD, Washington, DC Dennis Gingrich, MD, Hershey, PA Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD, Bay Shore, NY LaTasha Seliby Perkins, MD (New Physician Member), Arlington, VA Michelle Byrne, MD (Resident Member), Chicago, IL Chandler Stisher (Student Member), Brownsboro, AL

11400 TOMAHAWK CREEK PARKWAY | LEAWOOD, KS 66211-2680 | (800) 274-2237 | AAFP.ORG