

June 20, 2018

The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker **US** House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Minority Leader **US** House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan and Leader Pelosi:

On behalf of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), which represents 131,400 family physicians and medical students across the country, I write to thank you for your leadership in addressing our nation's opioid epidemic. This week, the House is poised to consider the Substance Use-Disorder Prevention that Promotes Opioid Recovery and Treatment (SUPPORT) for Patients and Communities Act (HR 6). We appreciate the bipartisan effort that led to the development of this legislation and applaud the extensive and comprehensive work done by several House Committees. We believe HR 6 is an important step towards our mutual goal of assisting those who are battling opioid addiction and providing support for individuals, families and communities who are impacted by this epidemic.

Opioid misuse is a complex problem. We recognize that high levels of prescription drug misuse and addiction persist despite annual decreases in the overall number of opioid prescriptions since 2010. At the same time, the health system exists to support health across the lifespan. partially through adequate pain management. Through advocacy, collaboration and education, the AAFP continues to actively work toward a solution to America's opioid misuse problems.

If passed, HR 6 holds the promise to change the trajectory of opioid misuse in the United States. We must seize this opportunity and go further to improve the care delivery system, research into treatment modalities, and prevention efforts for families across the country.

Thank you again for your leadership. Please contact Robert Hall, Director of Government Relations, at 202-232-9033 or rhall@aafp.org with any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

John Meigs, Jr., MD, FAAFP

Board Chair

www.aafp.org

Oregon, WI

Stilwell, KS

Executive Vice President

Douglas E. Henley, MD

Leawood, KS

Ada Stewart, MD, Columbia, SC

Alan Schwartzstein, MD Russell Kohl, MD