

May 6, 2021

The Honorable Carolyn Maloney U.S. House of Representatives 2308 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Rep. Maloney,

On behalf of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), which represents 133,500 family physicians and medical students across the country, I write to express the AAFP's support for the Student Loan Forgiveness for Frontline Health Workers Act (H.R. 2418). The bill would forgive the outstanding federal and private student loan debt of frontline physicians, medical students, and health care workers who are treating patients with coronavirus.

Family physicians are on the frontlines of the COVID-19 pandemic screening, diagnosing, triaging and treating patients who are fighting the virus while continuing to provide comprehensive care to their patients with ongoing health care needs, including management of chronic conditions. Family physicians conduct one in five office visits in the nation - that's 195 million visits annually. They are keeping patients healthy and keeping them out of the hospital and emergency room while many of them have also provided surge staffing when hospitals have been overwhelmed.

Your legislation will provide much needed relief to family physicians, particularly during this pandemic. Medical school graduates owe more than six times as much in student loan debt as the average college graduate. According to data from the Association of American Medical Colleges, the median student loan debt from medical school alone is \$200,000.

The Student Loan Forgiveness for Frontline Health Workers Act represents a promising way to repay the invaluable work and sacrifices our physicians are making to combat the ongoing pandemic, and we applaud you for your leadership. We look forward to working with you to move this legislation forward. For more information, please contact John Aguilar, Manager of Legislative Affairs, at jaquilar@aafp.org.

Sincerely,

Lang X. Le Ray, MD, FAAFP

Gary L. LeRoy, MD, FAAFP Board Chair American Academy of Family Physicians

President Ada Stewart, MD Columbia, SC

President-elect Deltaville, VA

Board Chair Sterling Ransone, MD Gary LeRoy, MD

Dayton, OH Executive Vice President

Directors

James Ellzy, MD, Washington, DC Dennis Gingrich, MD, Hershey, PA Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD, Bay Shore, NY Andrew Carroll, MD, Chandler, AZ Steven Furr, MD, Jackson, AL Margot Savoy, MD, Media, PA

STRONG MEDICINE FOR AMERICA

Jennifer Brull, MD, Plainville, KS Mary Campagnolo, MD, Borderntown, NJ Todd Shaffer, MD, Lee's Summit, MO Danielle Carter, MD (New Physician Member), Jacksonville, FL Anna Askari, MD (Resident Member), Palm Desert, CA Cynthia Ciccotelli (Student Member), Yardley, PA

Speaker Alan Schwartzstein, MD Oregon, WI

Vice Speaker Russell Kohl, MD Stilwell, KS

R. Shawn Martin Leawood, KS