• AFP Past and Present Editors, Medical Editors, and Medical Editing Fellows

    AFP Editors (from 1950 to the present)

    Kenneth Albrecht, MD, 1950-1950

    Walter C. Alvarez, MD, 1950-1951

    Hugh Hussey, MD, 1951-1959

    Arthur DeGraff, MD, 1959-1962

    John C. Rose, MD, 1962-1988

    Jay Siwek, MD, 1988-2018

    Sumi Makkar Sexton, MD, 2018-present

    AFP Family Physician Medical Editors

    Jay Siwek, MD, 1981-present

    Ray Jarris, MD, 1989-1993

    Doug Kamerow, MD, 1989-1994

    Marc Rivo, MD, 1989-1996

    Jack Rodnick, MD, 1989-1992

    Anne Walling, MD, 1989-present                          

    Charlie Smith, MD, 1992-2003

    Barbara Apgar, MD, MS, 1993-2020                          

    Richard Sadovsky, MD, 1993-2004

    Grace Brooke Huffman, MD, 1994-2002

    Caroline Wellbery, MD, 1995-present                         

    Thomas Barloon, MD, 1996-1999

    George Bergus, MD, 1996-1999

    Richard Sloan, MD, 1996-2002

    Bill Zepf, MD, 1996-2004

    Jeffrey Kirchner, DO, 1997-2001

    Karl Miller, MD, 1997-2008

    James Nuovo, MD, 1997-2002

    Amy Crawford-Faucher, MD, 1997-1998 and 2007-2013

    Marc Berger, MD, 1998-2003

    Roasire Verna, MD, 1998-2002

    Clarissa Kripke, MD, 1999-2011

    Mark Zamorski, MD, 1999-2002

    Robert Kelly, MD, 1999-2002

    Sumi Makkar Sexton, MD, 1999-present                         

    Mark Ebell, MD, MS, 2003-present                         

    Allen Shaughnessy, PharmD, MMedEd, 2003-present                         

    Charles Carter, MD, 2003-2008

    Margaret Gourlay, MD, 2003-2006

    Daniel Stulberg, MD, 2003-2006

    Henry Barry, MD, 2004-2005

    Kenny Lin, MD, MPH, 2005-present                         

    Kenneth Moon, MD, 2007-2013

    Colin Kopes-Kerr, MD, 2008-2013

    Uma Jayaraman, MD, 2008-2010

    John Delzell, MD, MSPH, 2009-present                         

    Barry Weiss, MD, 2010-present                         

    Corey Fogleman, MD, 2012-present                         

    Nathan Hitzeman, MD, 2012-2016

    Aaron Saguil,  MD, MPH, 2012-present                         

    Dean Seehusen, MD, MPH, 2012-present                         

    Jennifer L. Middleton, MD, MPH, 2014-present                         

    Steven Brown, MD, 2015-present                         

    Christopher W. Bunt, MD, 2016 -present                        

    Jacob S. Anderson, DO, 2017-present                        

    Sarah Coles, MD, 2017-present

    Michael Arnold, MD 2020-present

    AFP Medical Editing Fellows (from 1991 to the present)

    Denise Leclair, MD, 1991-1992

    Grace Brooke Huffman, MD, 1992-1993

    William J. Zepf, MD, 1993-1994

    Caroline Wellbery, MD, 1993-1997

    Rosaire Verna, MD, 1997-1998

    Clarissa Kripke, MD, 1998-1999

    Amy Weichel, D.O., 1999-2000

    Sumi Makkar Sexton, MD, 2000-2001

    Margaret Gourlay, MD, 2001-2002

    Charles Carter, MD, 2002-2003

    Rebecca Poage, MD, 2003-2004

    Kenneth Lin, MD, 2004-2005

    Lara Johnson, MD, 2005-2006

    Laurie MacDonald Crain, MD, 2005-2006

    Uma Jayaraman, MD, 2006-2007

    Michael Arnold, MD, 2019-2020

    Joanna L. Drowos, DO, MPH, 2020-present

    Natasha Pyzocha, DO, 2020-present