Tucson Physician Elected to the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Family Physicians

Heidi Meyer is graduate of University of California School of Medicine, Northwestern University

Wednesday, September 29, 2010


DENVER — Heidi Meyer, MD, a family physician in Tucson, has been elected to the board of directors of the American Academy of Family Physicians. The AAFP represents 94,700 physicians and medical students nationwide. Meyer was elected to a one-year term by the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents and confirmed by the AAFP’s governing body, the Congress of Delegates.

As the resident member of the board of directors, Meyer is responsible for representing the interests and opinions of the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents to the AAFP Board of Directors and Congress of Delegates. In addition, she will advocate on behalf of family physicians and patients nationwide to inspire positive change in the U.S. health care system.

A member of the AAFP since 2007, Meyer has served as the resident delegate to the Congress of Delegates and as a member of the AAFP Commission on Education Subcommittee on Resident and Student Issues. She also has served as a resident delegate to the Arizona Academy of Family Physicians and as the resident director on the Arizona AFP Board of Directors.

Meyer earned a Bachelor of Science degree in theater from Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.

She earned her medical degree from the University of California – San Diego, and is completing her family medicine residency training at the University of Arizona Family Medicine Residency program, Tucson.

Throughout her academic career, Meyer has been active in the American Medical Association and California Medical Association. She was a UCSD School of Medicine delegate to the American

Medical Association and California Medical Association from 2004 to 2006, and she was co-recipient of the first Student Leadership Award from the San Diego County Medical Society.

Meyer also received the 2007 Tomorrow’s Leader Award from the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students. In 2004, she received the Miles D. McCarthy Health Professions Award.

In addition to her academic work, Meyer volunteered for the UCSD free clinic, Hoag Memorial Hospital, Heartland Hospice and the Western Medical Center emergency room. She served as vice president of the Student Health Professions Association at California State University, Fullerton. With a strong interest in integrative medicine, Meyer served as campus coordinator of the Holistic and Integrative Medicine Interest Group, organizing classes and presentations throughout her medical school career. In 2003, she received the Kenneth L. Goodhue-McWilliams Award for Outstanding Community Service.

# # #

Founded in 1947, the AAFP represents 136,700 physicians and medical students nationwide. It is the largest medical society devoted solely to primary care. Family physicians conduct approximately one in five office visits -- that’s 192 million visits annually or 48 percent more than the next most visited medical specialty. Today, family physicians provide more care for America’s underserved and rural populations than any other medical specialty. Family medicine’s cornerstone is an ongoing, personal patient-physician relationship focused on integrated care.  To learn more about the specialty of family medicine, the AAFP's positions on issues and clinical care, and for downloadable multi-media highlighting family medicine, visit www.aafp.org/media. For information about health care, health conditions and wellness, please visit the AAFP’s award-winning consumer website, www.familydoctor.org(familydoctor.org).