COD Election Results

Delegates Choose New AAFP Leaders for 2015-2016

September 30, 2015 11:47 am News Staff Denver –

The AAFP Congress of Delegates today elected John Meigs Jr., M.D., of Brent, Ala., to be the Academy's president-elect. Others elected or chosen by acclamation for the following positions are

John Meigs Jr., M.D., of Brent, Ala., celebrates his win as AAFP president-elect with his wife, Molly, at the close of the 2015 Congress of Delegates' final business session.

  • Speaker of the Congress -- Javette Orgain, M.D., M.P.H., of Chicago
  • Vice Speaker -- Alan Schwartzstein, M.D., of Oregon, Wis.
  • Directors -- John Bender, M.D., M.B.A., of Fort Collins, Colo.; Gary LeRoy, M.D., of Dayton, Ohio; and Carl Olden, M.D., of Yakima, Wash.
  • New physician Board member -- Marie-Elizabeth Ramas, M.D., of Mount Shasta, Calif.
  • Resident Board member -- Richard Bruno, M.D., M.P.H., of Baltimore
  • Student Board member -- Tiffany Ho, M.P.H, of Baltimore

Related AAFP News Coverage
Town Hall Meeting
Academy Working to Address 'Asinine' EHR Issues


Additional Resources
Storify: 2015 Congress of Delegates: Day One(

Storify: 2015 Congress of Delegates: Day Two(