COD Election Results

Delegates Choose New AAFP Leaders for 2017-2018

September 13, 2017 12:20 pm News Staff San Antonio –

The AAFP Congress of Delegates today elected John Cullen, M.D., of Valdez, Alaska, to be the Academy's president-elect. Others elected or chosen by acclamation for the following positions are

Moments after election results are announced in San Antonio, AAFP President-elect John Cullen, M.D., of Valdez, Alaska, (second from left) is escorted to the podium along with his wife, Michelle, by sergeants-at-arms Adebowale Prest, M.D., of Hebron, Md., (left) and Yvette Oquendo-Berruz, M.D., of Columbia, Md. (right).

  • Speaker of the Congress -- Alan Schwartzstein, M.D., of Oregon, Wis.
  • Vice Speaker -- Russell Kohl, M.D., who lives in Stilwell, Kan.
  • Directors -- Sterling Ransone, M.D., of Deltaville, Va.; Windel Stracener, M.D., of Richmond, Ind.; and Erica Swegler, M.D., of Austin, Texas
  • New physician Board member -- Benjamin "Frankie" Simmons III, M.D., of Concord, N.C.
  • Resident Board member -- Alexa Mieses, M.D., M.P.H., of Durham, N.C.
  • Student Board member -- John Heafner, M.P.H., of St. Louis

Related AAFP News Coverage
Q&A With Michael Munger, M.D.
AAFP's New President Brings Experience, Empathy, Passion


Academy Officers Cover Critical Topics at Town Hall Meeting
AAFP Task Force to Examine Aspects of Maintenance of Certification

Additional Resources
2017 Congress of Delegates: Day One(

2017 Congress of Delegates: Day Two(