2015 National Conference

AAFP Students, Residents Elect New Leaders for Coming Year

August 03, 2015 02:38 pm News Staff Kansas City, Mo. –

A record-setting 4,195 people attended the AAFP's 2015 National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students July 30-Aug. 1, including 1,225 medical students and 1,120 family medicine residents.

Delegates to the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents and the National Congress of Student Members elected new leaders to represent them for the coming year on the final day of the conference. Here are the election results:

Resident and student members of the AAFP Board of Directors: Richard Bruno, M.D., M.P.H., of MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center in Baltimore; and Tiffany Ho, M.P.H., of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in Baltimore

Richard Bruno, M.D., M.P.H.

Tiffany Ho, M.P.H.

Resident and student chairs of the 2016 National Conference: Douglas Borst, M.D., of Kootenai Clinic Family Medicine Residency in Coeur d'Alene, Idaho; and Kaci Larsen, of the University of Alabama School of Medicine in Huntsville

Douglas Borst, M.D.

Kaci Larsen

Alternate resident and student delegates to the 2015 AAFP Congress of Delegates: Alex Mroszczyk-McDonald, M.D., of Kaiser Permanente in Fontana, Calif.; Stewart Decker, M.D., of Cascades East Family Medicine Residency in Klamath Falls, Ore.; Mary Beth Littrell, of the University of Alabama School of Medicine in Huntsville; and Morgan Rogers, of The Commonwealth Medical College in Scranton, Pa.

Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) Network national coordinator: Lauren Abdul Majeed (formerly Segelhorst), of the University of Illinois at Chicago School of Medicine

Resident and student representatives to the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Board of Directors: Elizabeth Brett Daily, M.D., of Banner -- University Medical Center Phoenix; and Phillip So, of Wayne State University School of Medicine in Detroit

Resident representative to the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors: Katy Kirk, M.D., M.P.H., of Banner -- University Medical Center Phoenix

Resident and student representatives to the AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees: Christopher Watson, M.D., M.P.H., of the Indiana University-Methodist Family Medicine Residency in Indianapolis; and Elizabeth McIntosh, of the State University of New York Upstate Medical University in Syracuse

(Note: All resident and student electees must be confirmed by the AAFP Board of Directors or the board of directors/trustees of the organization to which they were elected.)

In addition, appointed resident and student leadership positions are still available for the upcoming Academy and calendar years, including

  • representatives to five AAFP commissions (Commission on Continuing Professional Development, Commission on Governmental Advocacy, Commission on Health of the Public and Science, Commission on Membership and Member Services, and Commission on Quality and Practice);
  • FMIG Network regional coordinators;
  • student liaison to the Student National Medical Association;
  • representatives to the AMA; and
  • members of the AAFP Center for Global Health Initiatives (CGHI), AAFP Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Committee and Annals of Family Medicine Editorial Board.

The application deadline for most of these positions is Sept. 8. For the AMA, CGHI and Annals position, the deadline is Aug. 11. Details and application materials are available online.

Additional Resources
Storify: National Conference: Day One(storify.com)

Storify: National Conference: Day Two(storify.com)

Storify: National Conference: Day Three(storify.com)