Residents, Students Elect New Leaders at 2016 National Conference

July 30, 2016 02:54 pm News Staff

The 2016 AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students set new attendance records. According to preliminary numbers, the AAFP hosted 4,565 people here July 28-30, including 1,349 medical students and 1,210 residents.

Delegates to the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents and National Congress of Student Members chose new leaders July 30 to represent them in the coming year. Here are the election results:

AAFP Board of Directors resident and student member candidates: Stewart Decker, M.D., of Cascades East Family Medicine Residency Program in Klamath Falls, Ore., and Lauren Abdul-Majeed, of the University of Illinois-Chicago College of Medicine

Stewart Decker, M.D.

Lauren Abdul-Majeed

Chairs of the 2017 National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students: Alex M. McDonald, M.D., of the Kaiser Permanente Family Medicine Residency in Fontana, Calif., and Elizabeth McIntosh, of State University of New York Upstate Medical University in Binghamton

Alex M. McDonald, M.D.

Elizabeth McIntosh

Alternate resident and student delegates to the 2016 AAFP Congress of Delegates: Vivian Jiang, M.D., of the University of Rochester Family Medicine Residency in Rochester, N.Y.; Chetan Patel, M.D., of Columbus Family Medicine Residency in Columbus, Ga.; Laura Anderson, of the Commonwealth Medical College in Williamsport, Pa.; and Matthew Peters, of the University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle

Student member of the AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees: Clay Cooper, of Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine in Hershey

Resident and student members of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Board of Directors: Amber Robins, M.D., of the University of Rochester Family Medicine Residency, and Luyang Liu, of Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston

Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) Network national coordinator: Kelsey Murray, of Ohio State University College of Medicine in Columbus

(Note: All resident and student electees must be confirmed by the AAFP Board of Directors or the board of directors/trustees of the organization to which they were elected.)

In addition, appointed student and resident leadership positions are still available, including

  • representatives to five AAFP commissions (Commission on Continuing Professional Development, Commission on Governmental Advocacy, Commission on Health of the Public and Science, Commission on Membership and Member Services, and Commission on Quality and Practice);
  • FMIG Network regional coordinators;
  • student liaison to the Student National Medical Association;
  • representatives to the AMA; and
  • members of the AAFP Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Committee, and Annals of Family Medicine Editorial Board.

Details and application materials are available online.

Additional Resources
Storify: 2016 National  Conference: Day Three(

Storify: 2016 National Conference: Day Two(

Storify: 2016 National Conference: Day One(