• 2020 National Conference

    Students, Residents Elect 2021 Leadership

    August 05, 2020, 08:42 pm News Staff — Capping the first virtually conducted National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students — which boasted record-breaking student attendance of 2,293 — delegates to the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents and the National Congress of Student Members chose new leaders in a remote election. Following an Aug. 1 online forum for candidates, voting was conducted through Aug. 4, with results announced the next day.

    aafp national conference logo

    The elected residents:

    • Resident member, AAFP Board of Directors: Anna Askari, M.D., Eisenhower Health, Rancho Mirage, Calif.
    • Resident chair, 2021 National Conference: Amanda Stisher, M.D., Univerisity of Alabama Huntsville Family Medicine Residency Program, Huntsville
    • Resident alternate delegates, AAFP Congress of Delegates: Michael Keller, M.D., M.P.H., Memorial Hospital Family Medicine Residency, South Bend, Ind.; and Allen Rodriguez, M.D., Scripps Mercy Chula Vista Family Medicine Residency Program, Chula Vista, Calif.
    • Resident member, AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees: Christina Pedro, M.D., M.B.A., Saint Joseph Regional Medical Center, Mishawaka, Ind.

    The elected students:

    • Student member, AAFP Board of Directors: Cynthia Ciccotelli, Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine, Scranton, Pa.
    • Student hcair, National Conference: AuBree LaForce, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Rootstown
    • Student alternate delegates, AAFP Congress of Delegates: Rebecca Stoll, Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine, Dothan; and Morgan Weiler, University of Kansas School of Medicine, Kansas City
    • National FMIG Coordinator: Hannah Smith, East Carolina University Brody School of Medicine, Greenville, N.C.
    • Student member, AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees: Ashten Duncan, University of Oklahoma-University of Tulsa School of Community Medicine, Tulsa
    • Student member, Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Board of Directors: Bright Zhou, M.S., Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, Calif.

    Several appointed student and resident leadership positions remain available, including

    • resident representatives to the AMA Resident and Fellow Section (applications due Aug. 11),
    • student representatives to the AMA Medical Student Section (applications due Aug. 11),
    • resident and student to serve on the Annals of Family Medicine editorial advisory board (applications due Aug. 11),
    • AAFP commission members (applications due Sept. 8),
    • FMIG Network regional coordinators (students only, applications due Sept. 8),
    • student liaison to the Student National Medical Association,
    • student liaison to the Latino Medical Student Association,
    • AAFP National Research Network Advisory Group resident and student representatives,
    • FamMedPAC resident and student representatives, and
    • American Family Physician resident and student representatives.

    Information about leadership positions and application materials are available at aafp.org/getinvolved.