NCSC Delegates Choose New Leaders

May 04, 2010 02:45 pm News Staff Kansas City, Mo. –

AAFP constituent chapter representatives who attended the Academy's National Conference of Special Constituencies, or NCSC, here April 29-May 1 elected colleagues to fill various leadership positions.

AAFP Board of Directors new physician Board candidate: Russell Kohl, M.D., of Vinita, Okla. (Note: This candidate is to be approved by the 2010 Congress of Delegates in Denver.)

New physician alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates: Ryan Kauffman, M.D., of Bellefontaine, Ohio, and Erica Savage-Jeter, M.D., of Jonesville, S.C.

Special constituency alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates: Flora Sadri, D.O., of Northfield, Mass.; Jada Moore-Ruffin, M.D., of Lithia Springs, Ga.; Mohammad Tariq Fareed, M.D., of Hopkins, Minn.; Tomas Owens Jr., M.D., of Oklahoma City; Chandra Hartman, M.D., of Denver; and Abbas Hyderi, M.D., of Chicago. (Note: The special constituency delegates and alternate delegates represent the following constituency groups: women physicians; minority physicians; gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender physicians; and international medical graduates.)

AAFP delegates to the AMA Young Physicians Section: Ajoy Kumar, M.D., of St. Petersburg, Fla., will serve with Anne Kittendorf, M.D., of Dexter, Mich., who is completing her second term.

2011 NCSC convener: Lillian Wu, M.D., of Renton, Wash.

2011 special constituency co-conveners: Hartman and Hyderi (GLBT constituency); Fareed and Owens (IMG constituency); Kenneth Howard, M.D., of Calhoun, Ga., and Moore-Ruffin (minority constituency); and Alice Daniels, M.D., of Chicago, and Sadri (women's constituency).

Twelve chapters sent full delegations to the conference, with at least one representative from each of the five constituencies. A total of 155 people participated in this year's NCSC, including 71 first-time attendees. The delegates considered 52 resolutions.

In addition, 220 individuals attended the concurrent Annual Leadership Forum.