Race for NCSC Offices Ends as Delegates Pick New Leaders

May 10, 2011 12:55 am News Staff Kansas City, Mo. –

AAFP constituent chapter representatives who attended the Academy's National Conference of Special Constituencies, or NCSC, here May 5-7 elected colleagues to fill various leadership positions.

AAFP Board of Directors new physician Board candidate: Robyn Liu, M.D., of Tribune, Kan. (Note: This candidate is to be approved by the 2011 Congress of Delegates in Orlando.)

New physician alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates: Kisha Davis, M.D., of North Potomac, Md., and Christina Kelly, M.D., of University Place, Wash.

Special constituency alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates: Leila Hagshenas, M.D., of New York; Kevin Wang, M.D., of Seattle; Asim Jaffer, M.D., of Peoria, Ill.; Tamaan Osbourne-Roberts, M.D., of Denver; Joseph Perez, M.D., of New London, Conn.; and Karla Booker, M.D., of Lilburn, Ga. (Note: The special constituency delegates and alternate delegates represent the following constituency groups: gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender, or GLBT, physicians; international medical graduates, or IMGs; minority physicians; and women physicians.)

AAFP delegates to the AMA Young Physicians Section: Melissa Jefferis, M.D., of Columbus, Ohio, will serve with Ajoy Kumar, M.D. of Saint Petersburg, Fla., who is completing his second term.

2012 NCSC convener: Jay Lee, M.D., M.P.H, of Long Beach, Calif.

2012 special constituency co-conveners: Hagshenas and Wang (GLBT constituency); Sarah Jacob, M.D., of Garden City, Mich., and Jaffer (IMG constituency); Osbourne-Roberts and Perez (minority constituency); and Booker and Rachel Franklin, M.D., of Oklahoma City (women's constituency).

Thirteen chapters sent full delegations to the conference, with at least one representative from each of the five constituencies. A total of 152 people participated in this year's NCSC, including 67 first-time attendees. The delegates considered 58 resolutions.

In addition, 199 individuals attended the concurrent Annual Leadership Forum.