People in the News/Awards -- May

May 31, 2011 05:00 pm News Staff

A number of AAFP members received various honors and awards recently. In addition, the AAFP bestowed its Top 10 Awards to 10 allopathic medical schools.

Doug Campos-Outcalt, M.D., M.P.A., has been appointed to the CDC's Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, or ACIP. Campos-Outcalt, who is associate head of the department of family and community medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine, Phoenix, will continue to serve as the AAFP's liaison to the ACIP through the committee's June 22-23 meeting. His four-year term begins on July 1. New members will be seated at ACIP's October meeting. The Academy has not yet selected a liaison to succeed Campos-Outcalt.

In related news, Jonathan Temte, M.D., Ph.D., of Madison, Wis., a professor in the department of family medicine at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Madison, has been reappointed to a second term as a member of the ACIP.

Richard Feldman, M.D., of Indianapolis, has been named the first winner of the Center for the History of Family Medicine, or CHFM, Fellowship in the History of Family Medicine( Feldman was awarded the $1,500 fellowship for "Family Practice Stories," a collection of stories told by and about Indiana family doctors who practiced in the mid-20th century.

Feldman is a practicing family physician and director of medical education and of the family medicine residency program at St. Francis Hospital and Health Centers in Beech Grove, Ind. He also serves as an assistant clinical professor at the Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis.

Housed at AAFP headquarters in Leawood, Kan., and administered by the AAFP Foundation, the CHFM serves as the principal resource center for the collection, conservation, exhibition and study of materials relating to the history of family medicine in the United States. The fellowship supports research using the collections of the CHFM to advance understanding of and appreciation for that history.

Margot Savoy, M.D., M.P.H., of Wilmington, Del., and John Epling Jr., M.D., M.Ed., of Syracuse, N.Y., have been named the AAFP's vaccine science fellows for 2011-12.

Savoy serves as medical director of both the Christiana Care Family Medicine Centers in Wilmington and the state of Delaware's Division of Youth Rehabilitative Services. She also is a faculty member at the Christiana Care Family Medicine and Emergency Medicine/Family Medicine Residency programs.

Epling is an associate professor and vice chair in the department of family medicine and an associate professor in the department of public health and preventive medicine at the State University of New York's Upstate Medical University in Syracuse.

Savoy and Epling constitute the third class of fellows in the program since its launch. The program is intended to develop a cadre of family physician experts who can help the Academy provide effective input into the deliberations and decisions of federal and state public health agencies that set vaccine policies.

The fellowship program is funded through a grant from Merck & Co. Inc., but the vaccine manufacturer has no input on or control over the selection of fellows or the content of the program.

The Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute, or PCORI, an institute created by the health care reform act to conduct comparative effectiveness research, has chosen family physician Joseph Selby, M.D., as its first executive director(

PCORI is an independent, nonprofit organization created to provide patients and physicians and other health care professionals with information to evaluate prevention, diagnosis and treatment options, and to help them make more informed health decisions, according to a press release issued by the institute. As executive director, Selby will be responsible for identifying strategic issues and opportunities while implementing programs authorized by the PCORI Board of Governors. He also will create an organizational structure to carry out a national research agenda.

Selby is a clinical epidemiologist and health services researcher and is the former director of the division of research at Kaiser Permanente in northern California. He was elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine in 2009.

Finally, 10 allopathic medical schools that have contributed the most to the family physician pipeline have been honored with the AAFP's Top 10 Awards.

According to an AAFP news release, the annual awards recognize schools that, during a three-year period, graduate the greatest percentages of students who choose first-year family medicine residency positions.

The 2011 award recipients and the percentages of graduates entering family medicine are

  • the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Grand Forks, with 19.6 percent,
  • the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University, Greenville, N.C., with 18.9 percent,
  • the University of New Mexico School of Medicine, Albuquerque, with 17.1 percent,
  • the University of Kansas School of Medicine, Kansas City, with 16.3 percent,
  • the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine at Marshall University, Huntington, W.Va., with 16.3 percent,
  • the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Medicine, Little Rock, with 15.8 percent,
  • the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, Bethesda, Md., with 15.8 percent,
  • the University of Minnesota Medical School, Minneapolis, with 15.6 percent,
  • the Texas A&M University Health Science Center College of Medicine, College Station, with 15.3 percent, and
  • the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine, Sioux Falls, with 15.0 percent.

This year's Top 10 Award winners employed a number of initiatives to support students who are most likely to become family physicians, including

  • student outreach,
  • admissions policies that target students from rural and medically underserved areas,
  • clinical rotations that emphasize positive experiences in family medicine,
  • faculty involvement in medical school committees,
  • strong family medicine interest groups, and
  • financial aid packages that minimize student debt.