Delegates to 2012 NCSC Elect New Leaders

May 05, 2012 06:30 pm News Staff Kansas City, Mo. –

AAFP constituent chapter representatives who attended the Academy's National Conference of Special Constituencies (NCSC) here May 3-5 elected colleagues to fill various leadership positions.

[Breaking News]

AAFP Board of Directors new physician Board candidate: Ravi Grivois-Shah, M.D., of Oak Park, Ill. (Note: This candidate is to be approved by the 2012 Congress of Delegates in Philadelphia.)

New physician alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates:
Kelly Gabler, M.D., of Baytown, Texas, and Gerry Tolbert, M.D., of Florence, Ky.

Special constituency alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates: Jennifer Bacani McKenney, M.D., of Fredonia, Kan.; Alexander Brzezny, M.D., M.P.H., of Ephrata, Wash.; Grace Chiu, M.D., of Chester, Va.; Marie-Elizabeth Ramas, M.D., of Mount Shasta, Calif.; Lara Mashek, M.D., of Shawnee, Okla.; and Samuel Hanson Willis, M.D., of Minneapolis (Note: The special constituency alternate delegates represent the following constituency groups: physicians interested in gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender [GLBT] issues; international medical graduates [IMGs]; minority physicians; and women physicians.)

AAFP delegates to the AMA Young Physicians Section: Janet West, M.D., of Pensacola, Fla., will serve with Melissa Jefferis, M.D., of Columbus, Ohio, who is completing the second year of her term.

2013 NCSC convener: Kim Yu, M.D., of Dearborn Heights, Mich.

2013 special constituency co-conveners:
Bruce Echols, M.D., of Dallas, and Hanson Willis (GLBT constituency); Brzezny and Chiu (IMG constituency); Ramas and Bacani McKenney (minority constituency); and Teresa Lovins, M.D., of Columbus, Ind., and Mashek (women's constituency)

Thirteen chapters sent full delegations to the conference, with at least one representative from each of the five constituencies. A total of 165 people participated in this year's NCSC, including 78 first-time attendees. The delegates considered 55 resolutions.

In addition, 231 individuals attended the concurrent Annual Leadership Forum.