2013 National Conference

Resident, Student Leaders Elected During National Conference

August 05, 2013 03:46 pm News Staff Kansas City, Mo. –

This year's AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students had the highest attendance in at least the past decade. According to preliminary numbers, the AAFP hosted 3,542 people during the 2013 National Conference here Aug. 1-3, including 1,028 medical students and 988 family medicine residents.

Delegates to the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents and National Congress of Student Members chose new leaders on Aug. 3 to represent them in the coming year. Here are the election results:

AAFP Board of Directors resident and student Board member candidates: Kimberly Becher, M.D., of the Marshall University Family Medicine Residency Program in Huntington, W.V., and Tate Hinkle, of the University of Alabama School of Medicine in Birmingham

Kimberly Becher, M.D.

Tate Hinkle

Chairs of the 2014 National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students: Andrew Lutzkanin, M.D., of the Reading Hospital and Medical Center Family Medicine Residency in Reading, Pa., and Kristina Zimmerman, of the Commonwealth Medical College in Scranton, Pa.

Andrew Lutzkanin, M.D.

Kristina Zimmerman

Alternate resident/student delegates to the 2013 AAFP Congress of Delegates: Gerald Banks, M.D., M.P.H., of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey Robert Wood Johnson Medical School Family Medicine Residency Program at Capital Health in Trenton, and Amanda Steventon, M.D., of the Wesley Family Medicine Residency in Wichita, Kan./Brian Blank, of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, and Douglas Borst, of the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Resident representative to the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors Board of Directors: Natasha Bhuyan, M.D., of the Banner Good Samaritan Medical Center Family Medicine Residency in Phoenix

Resident and student representatives to the AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees: Jessica Johnson, M.D., of the Oregon Health and Sciences University Family Medicine Residency Program, and Nathaniel Lepp, M.P.H., of the New York Medical College School of Medicine in Valahalla

National Family Medicine Interest Group Coordinator: Syed Mustafa Alavi, of the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine

(Note: All resident and student electees must be confirmed by the AAFP Board of Directors.)

In addition, appointed student and resident leadership positions still are available, including representatives to five AAFP commissions, family medicine interest group network regional coordinators, student liaison to the Student National Medical Association and representatives to the AMA. The application deadline for most of these positions is Sept. 9. Details and application materials are available online.