People in the News/Awards -- February

February 14, 2015 08:07 pm News Staff

A number of AAFP members have received various honors or recognition in the past several months.

Michael LeFevre, M.D., M.S.P.H., of Columbia, Mo., was named chair of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF). He replaced Virginia Moyer, M.D., as chair of the task force.

[This Just Posted]

LeFevre has been a USPSTF member since January 2005 and was appointed co-vice chair in March 2011. He is vice chair and director of clinical activities for the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Missouri School of Medicine in Columbia.

LeFevre served on the AAFP Commission on Clinical Policies and Research and, among other accomplishments, was a member of the Eighth Joint National Committee charged with developing national guidelines for treatment of hypertension.

AAFP member Jennifer DeVoe, M.D., D.Phil., of Portland, Ore., has been appointed to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality. Both the AAFP and the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) nominated DeVoe for the seat. Also named to the advisory council were family physicians Kevin Grumbach, M.D., of San Francisco, who was nominated by STFM's Academic Family Medicine Advocacy Committee, and Mark Johnson, M.D., M.P.H., of Washington, D.C., who was nominated by the Council of Academic Family Medicine.

DeVoe, who is associate professor of family medicine at Oregon Health and Science University, also was named a member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) last fall. Election to the IOM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

Perry Pugno, M.D., M.P.H., of Prairie Village, Kan., received the F. Marian Bishop Award from the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine during the organization's Annual Spring Conference last year. The award, established in 1990, honors individuals who have significantly enhanced the academic credibility of family medicine through a sustained, long-term commitment to family medicine in academic settings.

Pugno retired from the AAFP in 2014, where he had served for three years as vice president for education at Academy headquarters in Leawood, Kan. Before accepting that position, Pugno was director of the AAFP Division of Medical Education for more than a decade.

Pugno was founding chair of the National Institute for Program Director Development and also served as a family medicine ambassador to various professional organizations, including the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and the AMA.

AAFP Vice Speaker Javette Orgain, M.D., M.P.H., of Chicago, received the Practitioner of the Year award from the National Medical Association (NMA) during its 2014 Annual Convention & Scientific Assembly. Every year, the NMA bestows the award on one of its members who has had "a career that has provided excellent patient care, a tremendous commitment to resident education and a focus on public health."

Orgain is an associate professor of clinical family medicine in the University of Illinois-Chicago Department of Family Medicine. She has served as medical director at the university's Mile Square Health Center and currently is medical director/consultant for the Village of Park Forest Health Department.

Academy EVP and CEO Douglas Henley, M.D., of Village of Loch Lloyd, Mo., has been named the 2015 recipient of COLA's Perry A. Lambird Memorial Excellence in Medicine Award. According to the organization, the award honors Henley's "outstanding contributions to health care resulting from his leadership at the American Academy of Family Physicians and tireless support for improving quality in laboratory medicine."

Finally, family physician Cynthia Haq, M.D., of Madison, Wis., has received the Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Medicine Award administered by the Association of American Medical Colleges' Organization of Student Representatives. The annual award honors a medical school faculty physician who exemplifies the qualities of a caring and compassionate mentor in teaching and advising medical students. Nominees for the award must also demonstrate personal ethics, empathy and a commitment to service, all of which are essential to practicing patient-centered medicine.

Haq is professor of family medicine and population health sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and was founding director of the university's Center for Global Health in 2005. A practicing physician, she has been widely recognized for her dedication to training future physicians, both in the United States and abroad, as well as for her work to bring family medicine to nations around the world.