2015 NCCL Delegates Elect New Leaders

May 02, 2015 01:25 pm News Staff Kansas City, Mo. –

AAFP chapter delegates who attended the Academy's 2015 National Conference of Constituency Leaders (NCCL) here elected colleagues May 1-2 to fill various leadership positions.

New physician Board member candidate Marie-Elizabeth Ramas, M.D.

AAFP Board of Directors new physician member candidate: Marie-Elizabeth Ramas, M.D., of Mount Shasta, Calif. (Note: This candidate is to be approved by the 2015 Congress of Delegates in Denver.)

New physician alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates: Megan Adamson, M.D., of Lebanon, N.H.; and Matthew Burke, M.D., of Baltimore

Member constituency alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates: Jaividhya Dasarathy, M.D., of Cleveland; Maria de Arman, M.D., of Corpus Christi, Texas (a member of the Uniformed Services chapter); Shani Muhammad, M.D., of Fresno, Calif.; Ikemefuna Okwuwa, M.D., of Odessa, Texas; Haroon Samar, M.D., M.P.H., of Colorado Springs, Colo. (a member of the Uniformed Services chapter); and Jonathan Wells, M.D., of Seattle (Note: The member constituency alternate delegates represent the following constituency groups: women; minorities; international medical graduates (IMGs); and gay lesbian, bisexual or transgender (GLBT) physicians or physicians who support GLBT issues.)

2016 NCCL convener Gerry Tolbert, M.D.

AAFP delegate to the AMA Young Physicians Section: Sabesan Karuppiah, M.D., M.P.H., of Duncansville, Pa., will serve with Joanna Bisgrove, M.D., of Fitchburg, Wis., who is completing the second year of her term.

2016 NCCL convener: Gerry Tolbert, M.D., of Burlington, Ky.

2016 member constituency co-conveners: Rachelle Brilliant, D.O., of Waterford, N.Y., and Wells (GLBT constituency); Dasarathy and Okwuwa (IMG constituency); Samar and Muhammad (minority constituency); and De Arman and JoAnna Kauffman, M.D., of Bluffton, Ohio (women's constituency)

Eighteen chapters sent full delegations to the 25th anniversary NCCL, meaning all five member constituencies were represented by a chapter delegate. NCCL set a record for total attendance (214) and had 44 chapters represented with 159 chapter delegates. Registrants included 110 new physicians and 86 first-time attendees.

In addition, 229 individuals attended the concurrent Annual Chapter Leader Forum.