Official Announcement

2015 AAFP Congress of Delegates Convenes Sept. 28-30 in Denver

July 17, 2015 03:06 pm News Staff

The Colorado Rocky Mountains are the backdrop for this year's AAFP Congress of Delegates (COD), which will meet Sept. 28-30 in the Centennial Ballroom of the Hyatt Regency Denver. The COD will convene in conjunction with the AAFP Family Medicine Experience (FMX), scheduled for Sept. 29-Oct. 3.

[AAFP Congress of Delegates]

During the COD's reference committee hearings on Sept. 28, AAFP members will have a chance to share their views about various resolutions to be considered and help shape new AAFP policies. Delegates will vote on those resolutions in subsequent business sessions. Then, on Sept. 30, the delegates will elect AAFP officers and members of the Board of Directors.

Learn more about those candidates via a dedicated Web page where you can access links to each candidate's personal campaign statement, biography, contact information and curriculum vitae. Each of the photographs shown below links to that candidate's Web page; just be sure to have your AAFP login information handy.

Further information about this year's COD is available online, including links to

  • a tentative schedule of official activities,(0 bytes)
  • information on how to register, and(0 bytes)
  • a listing of resolutions submitted to date.

Among resolution topics to be considered:

  • advocating and supporting legislation to fund rural hospitals;
  • ensuring that quantitative risk information is published along with evidence-based recommendations, when appropriate, to facilitate patient-physician discussions about specific clinical interventions;
  • developing a library of patient education videos for;( and
  • increasing the AAFP's ability to provide expert responses to member inquiries about immunization issues.

For AAFP President-elect

Carlos Gonzales, M.D.

John Meigs Jr., M.D.

Lloyd Van Winkle, M.D.

For AAFP Speaker

Javette Orgain, M.D., M.P.H.

For AAFP Vice Speaker

Alan Schwartzstein, M.D.

[Mark Stephens, M.D., MS, FAAFP]

Mark Stephens, M.D.

For AAFP Director

John Bender, M.D., M.B.A.

Carl Olden, M.D.

Patricia Czapp, M.D.

Ada Stewart, M.D., R.Ph.

Gary LeRoy, M.D.