2017 NCCL Delegates Elect New Leaders

April 29, 2017 12:34 pm News Staff Kansas City, Mo. –

AAFP chapter delegates who attended the Academy's 2017 National Conference of Constituency Leaders (NCCL) held here April 27-29 elected colleagues to fill various leadership positions.

New physician Board member candidate Benjamin "Frankie" Simmons III, M.D.

AAFP Board of Directors new physician member candidate: Benjamin "Frankie" Simmons III, M.D., of Concord, N.C. (Note: This candidate is to be approved by the 2017 Congress of Delegates in San Antonio.)

New physician alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates: Rupal Bhingradia, M.D., of Jersey City, N.J., and Keisha Harvey, M.D., of Covington, La.

Member constituency alternate delegates to the AAFP Congress of Delegates: Gerald Banks, M.D., M.S., of Corpus Christi, Texas; Harold Phillips Jr., M.D., of New London, Conn.; Julie Johnston, M.D., of Chelmsford, Mass.; Kathleen Meehan-de la Cruz, M.D., of Norwalk, Ohio; Tina Tanner, M.D., of Montague, Mich.; and Kristi VanDerKolk, M.D., of Kalamazoo, Mich.

2018 National Conference of Constituency Leaders convener Shani Muhammad, M.D.

The member constituency alternate delegates represent the following constituency groups: women; minorities; international medical graduates (IMGs); and lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender (LGBT) physicians or physicians who support LGBT issues.

2018 NCCL convener: Shani Muhammad, M.D., of San Ramon, Calif.

2018 member constituency co-conveners: Tanner and Johnston (women's constituency); Tasha Starks, M.D., of Jonesboro, Ark., and Phillips (minority constituency); Srikar "Sri" Reddy, M.D., of Novi, Mich., and Banks (IMG constituency); Bhingradia and Harvey (new physicians constituency); and VanDerKolk and Meehan-de la Cruz (LGBT constituency)

AAFP delegate to the AMA Young Physicians Section: Jerry Abraham, M.D., M.P.H., of Los Angeles. Abraham will serve with Anita Ravi, M.D., M.P.H., of New York, N.Y., who is completing the second year of her term.

Twenty chapters sent full delegations to the 2017 NCCL, meaning all five member constituencies were represented by a chapter delegate. NCCL had 43 chapters represented, with 153 chapter delegates. The total of 225 registrants included 104 new physicians and 83 first-time attendees.

In addition, 198 individuals attended the concurrent Annual Chapter Leader Forum.

Related AAFP News Coverage
FPs Discuss Critical Issues at Packed Leadership Conference Town Hall

2017 NCCL Plenary
Achieving Health Equity: Tools for a National Campaign Against Racism