• FMIG Program of Excellence Award

    Apply today! Applications accepted through April 30.

    For more than 10 years, the Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) Network has recognized FMIGs with the Program of Excellence Award for their efforts to encourage student interest in family medicine and family medicine programming. See last year's winning programs and their applications here.

    FMIGs are active at nearly every medical school across the country. The Program of Excellence Award aims to celebrate the contributions these groups make to the specialty of family medicine by honoring a variety of applicant types. Some programs have an established record of high achievement and strong advising and support, while other programs may be new to their campus or have a defined area of focus throughout the year. The AAFP is proud to recognize the unique achievements of all such FMIGs through the Program of Excellence Award.   


    Program of Excellence Award winners are recognized each year at the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students. All FMIG leaders and members from award-winning FMIGs are presented with a plaque to display back at school, and celebrated during a collective event.

    Additionally, two winning schools each receive a $600 cash prize.

    • One cash prize will be awarded to a school that shows consistent excellence, being a consistent and historical winner of this award and continuing to excel and improve.
    • A second cash prize will be awarded to an FMIG from an institution that is not a historical winner of the Program of Excellence Awards, and instead is making great strides in a new way. This could be a school with a single innovative and exemplary program or initiative, a new FMIG, or a FMIG that has been dormant for many years and is being relaunched. It could also be a FMIG that shows great improvement in activity or efforts to promote family medicine in an environment that is less supportive of primary care.


    Family medicine interest groups are eligible to apply if:

    • The FMIG is at a U.S. allopathic or osteopathic medical school
    • The FMIG is located at a U.S. clinical training site (including FMIGs with student members or leaders from multiple U.S. or international medical schools)
    • The FMIG is at an international medical school that contributes significantly to the U.S. family medicine workforce*

    An interest group does not need to be called an FMIG to be considered for an award, but its primary mission must be to promote and educate students on family medicine.  

    To win a Program of Excellence Award, an FMIG must demonstrate that it is well-rounded with competency in a number of key areas, including:

    • FMIG structure and operation
    • Community service
    • Exposing students to family medicine and family physicians
    • Promoting the value of family medicine as primary care
    • Professional development
    • Measures of success

    The FMIG must also illustrate significant changes or enhancements, for example, what was learned from the previous years' activities, what new innovations have been or will be developed, what elements of programming were modified to meet the needs of members, etc.

    Awards are given in three segments:

    • Overall Awards: Overall Program of Excellence Award winners will be chosen based on demonstration of well-rounded, exemplary FMIG activity and operation. These FMIGs address all aspects of the key award areas listed above.
    • Categorical and Special Consideration Awards: These are FMIGs who demonstrate excellence in one area, or who qualify for special consideration because they are a first-time applicant or have overcome significant obstacles. Examples of categorical and special consideration awards are:
      • Excellence in Community Service
      • Excellence in Professional Development
      • Excellence in Exposure to Family Medicine and Family Physicians
      • Excellence in Promoting the Value of Family Medicine as Primary Care
      • Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
      • First-Time Applicant
      • Most Improved FMIG
    • Faculty Award: The AAFP acknowledges the major role that faculty advisors and staff supporters play in the success of an FMIG. FMIGs applying to receive an overall or categorical/special consideration award can now nominate their faculty advisor or staff supporter to be chosen for the Joyce Jeardeau Memorial Award. The award goes to one faculty advisor or staff supporter who is exemplary in his/her support of their FMIG.

    Each FMIG may apply for an overall or a categorical/special consideration award, as well as nominate one faculty advisor. Applicants for the overall award that are not chosen as overall winners are eligible for categorical/special consideration awards at the discretion of the Program of Excellence Award judging panel. Applicants for categorical/special consideration awards are not eligible for overall awards. The application form must be used for submission. Any other formats will not be accepted.

    How to Apply

    You can apply for a Program of Excellence Award online. The deadline to submit applications is Tuesday, April 30.

    Application Tips

    • The online application form requires FMIGs to summarize details about their group and their programs in paragraph form. Although the online application form allows users to save their work and return as needed, many groups find it helpful to complete the written portions of the application collaboratively in a shared space like a Google document prior to entering their final responses into the application for submission.
    • The application is identical year to year. Keep a running document of your events and programs will help your FMIG to be ready to apply when applications open each spring. 

    Start Your Application

    *Qualifying international medical schools are: Ross University School of Medicine, Barbados; St. George’s University School of Medicine, Grenada; American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine, Saint Maarten; American University of Antigua College of Medicine, Antigua and Barbados; Saba University School of Medicine, Saba; University of Medicine and Health Sciences, St. Kitts; Saint James School of Medicine, Anguilla, and Bonaire/Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Medical University of the Americas, St. Kitts and Nevis; Windsor University School of Medicine, St. Kitts and Nevis; University of Guadalajara, Mexico; American University of Integrative Sciences School of Medicine, Saint Maarten/Barbados; and Trinity School of Medicine, St. Vincent and the Grenadines.