• The 2020 Winners

    Each year, the AAFP is proud to recognize a select number of outstanding family medicine residents with the AAFP Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education.

    While COVID-19 canceled this year’s annual in-person celebration, held during the AAFP’s Family Medicine (FMX), we are honored to virtually recognize this year’s 16 recipients. Family doctors like these 16 winners have not chosen this life path for glory, but rather for the health and wellness of families and communities.

    Please honor our winners now by reading about them and their many accomplishments.

    View the 2020 AAFP Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education Recipients

    About This Award

    Of the 3,500 eligible family medicine residents, only a small number are selected for the AAFP Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education. This esteemed distinction has recognized outstanding family medicine residents for leadership, civic involvement, exemplary patient care, and aptitude for and interest in family medicine since 1952. More than 900 residents have received this honor in the past—a number that grows proudly each year.

    Thanks to generous support by a grant from Novo Nordisk, winners are awarded a $1,000 scholarship and recognition at the AAFP Family Medicine Experience (FMX).

    Awards are provided for second-year graduate training only and must be used for the academic year awarded from July 1 to June 30 of the following year.

    About Novo Nordisk

    The AAFP Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education is supported by the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation through a grant provided Novo Nordisk. Novo Nordisk performs groundbreaking research to uncover and distribute life-saving medicines worldwide. 

    Opening Soon: Applications for the 2021 AAFP Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education

    Be recognized for your contribution to family medicine.

    Eligibility Requirements

    • Current AAFP Resident Member. (Not a member? Join today!)
    • Eligible to practice family medicine in the United States.
    • Currently in second year of an ACGME accredited family medicine residency.  

    Criteria for Selection

    • Demonstrated leadership ability.
    • Community involvement/social commitment.
    • Exemplary patient care and interpersonal relationships.

    Applications coming soon
    Winners announced: Summer 2021

    Step 1

    Complete the Application Materials (including):

    • Application Form/Professional Activity Plans
    • Personal Statement (2-page maximum)
    • Resume/CV

    Step 2

    Provide References from:

    • Program Director
    • AAFP Member

    (One reference from each representative is required.)

    Step 3

    Submit All Materials To:
    AAFP Award for Excellence in GME
    Attn: Tammy Underwood|
    11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway
    Leawood, KS 66211-2672
    Email: tunderwood@aafp.org

    For more information about the AAFP Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education, please contact Tammy Underwood at tunderwood@aafp.org or call (913) 906-6337.