• 2021 National Conference

    Delegates Elect New Student, Resident Leaders

    August 03, 2021, 3:15 pm News Staff — Delegates to the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents and the National Congress of Student Members chose new leaders Aug. 1 during the virtual National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students.

    aafp national conference logo

    The elected residents are

    • Resident member, AAFP Board of Directors: Amanda Stisher, M.D., University of Alabama Huntsville Family Medicine Residency Program, Huntsville;
    • Resident chair, 2022 National Conference: Chase Mussard, M.D., Oregon Health and Sciences University Family Medicine Residency Program, Portland;
    • Resident alternate delegates, AAFP Congress of Delegates: Asna Tasleem, M.D., WellSpan Good Samaritan Hospital Family Medicine Program, Lebanon, Pa.; Mikita Patel, M.D., McLaren Oakland Family Medicine Residency Program, Pontiac, Mich.;
    • Resident member, Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors Board of Directors: Beverly Onyekwuluje, M.D., McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern University — Delnor Program, Geneva, Ill.; and
    • Resident member, Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Board of Directors: Katherine Schreck, M.D., University of Minnesota, North Memorial Family Medicine Residency Program, Minneapolis.

    The elected students are

    • Student member, AAFP Board of Directors: Amy Hoffman, Penn State College of Medicine, Hershey;
    • Student chair, 2022 National Conference: Morgan Weiler, University of Kansas School of Medicine Program — Wichita;
    • Student alternate delegates, AAFP Congress of Delegates: Garrett Kneese, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; Valentina Sedlacek, University of Rochester/Highland Hospital of Rochester Program, Rochester, N.Y.;
    • Family Medicine Interest Group Network National Coordinator: Stephen “Alex” Crockett, East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine, Johnson City;
    • Student member, AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees: Dominique Munroe, The American University of Integrated Sciences, Bridgetown, Barbados, and
    • Student member, Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Board of Directors: Juan Oves, M.P.H., Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Miami.

    The virtual conference drew 4,905 attendees, including 1,819 students and 1,317 residents.

    Several appointed student and resident leadership positions remain available:

    • student representatives to the AMA Medical Student Section (applications due Aug. 11),
    • resident representatives to the AMA Resident and Fellow Section (applications due Aug. 11),
    • student and resident to serve on the Annals of Family Medicine editorial advisory board (applications due Aug. 11),
    • student or resident representative to the AAFP Center for Global Health Initiatives (applications due Aug. 11),
    • student and resident AAFP commission appointments (applications due Sept. 8),
    • FMIG Network regional coordinators (students only, applications due Sept. 8),
    • student liaison to the Student National Medical Association,
    • student liaison to the Latino Medical Student Association,
    • student and resident representatives to the AAFP National Research Network Advisory Group and
    • American Family Physician resident and student representatives.

    Information about leadership positions and application materials are available at aafp.org/getinvolved.