• Amanda Stisher, MD    

    Resident Member

    Amanda Stisher, MD

    Amanda Stisher, MD, a third-year family medicine resident at the Family Medicine Residency Program at University of Alabama at Birmingham in Huntsville, serves on the board of directors of the American Academy of Family Physicians. The AAFP represents 130,000 physicians and medical students nationwide. Stisher was elected to a one-year term by the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents and was confirmed by the governing body of the AAFP, the Congress of Delegates.

    As the resident member of the board of directors, Stisher represents the interests and opinions of the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents to the AAFP Board of Directors and Congress of Delegates. In addition, she advocates on behalf of family physicians and patients nationwide to inspire positive change in the U.S. health care system.

    A member of the AAFP since 2015, Stisher has taken on leadership roles at the AAFP and currently serves as the resident chair of National Conference. She is the resident member of the Subcommittee on Student and Resident Issues and the Subcommittee on National Conference Planning, both on the Commission on Education. She served as the student delegate to the Commission on Continuing Professional Development, and in 2019, she was the student delegate to the AAFP Congress of Delegates.

    Stisher was a Family Medicine Leads Emerging Leader Institute Scholar where she worked at the University of Alabama at Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center, Deep South Network. There she helped develop the Community Health Advisors and Navigation (CHAN) program using patient navigators to increase breast and cervical cancer screening in the medically underserved women of communities in the Alabama Black Belt. This included creating a patient navigation training manual, facilitating patient navigator training sessions, and editing the “Helping Hands” cookbook.

    Stisher earned her Bachelor of Science degree and her medical degree, both from the University of Alabama in Birmingham.