• Janet Nwaukoni, D.O.

    Resident Member

    Janet Nwaukoni, D.O.

    Janet Nwaukoni, D.O., a third-year family medicine resident at the Northwestern McGaw Family Medicine Residency Program in Lake Forest, Illinois, she serves on the board of directors of the American Academy of Family Physicians. The AAFP represents 130,000 physicians and medical students nationwide. Nwaukoni was elected to a one-year term by the National Congress of Family Medicine Residents and was confirmed by the governing body of the AAFP, the Congress of Delegates.

    As a medical student, Nwaukoni served on the Board of Directors for the Student National Medical Association. Nwaukoni was previously elected as an Alternate Resident Delegate to the AAFP Congress of Delegates. Additionally, she was selected as one of the Northwestern McGaw Family Medicine Resident Program’s Administrative Chief Residents.

    In her role as Resident Delegate to the Congress of Delegates, she served directly on the AAFP’s Commission on Education and Subcommittees on Resident and Student Issues and Graduate Curriculum, advocating for issues important to both students and residents. 

    This year, she received the John E. Franklin, M.D., Commitment to Diversity Award from Northwestern Medicine and is a recipient of the 2023 AAFP Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education.

    Nwaukoni graduated Cum Laude with a bachelor's degree in biology and society from Cornell University. She earned her Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine.