• Jennifer L. Brull, MD, FAAFP 


    Jennifer L. Brull, MD, FAAFP

    Jen Brull, MD, FAAFP, a family physician in Fort Collins, Colorado, is president-elect of the American Academy of Family Physicians. The AAFP represents 130,000 physicians and medical students nationwide. As an AAFP board member, Brull advocates on behalf of family physicians and patients nationwide to inspire positive change in the U.S. health care system.

    Brull practiced family medicine in rural Plainville, Kansas for more than 20 years and now serves as vice president of clinical engagement for Aledade, a company that partners with independent primary care physicians to succeed in value-based care. She formerly served 12 years as health officer for the Rooks County Health Department and filled several roles as medical director and operations manager of urgent care and surgical clinics in the local community critical access hospital.

    Brull served two years as an HIT Fellow for the Office of the National Coordinator and was recognized as a Hypertension Control Challenge Champion by the CDC in 2014. She was named as a Top 25 Innovator by Modern Healthcare in 2019 and is a physician leader in performance improvement and change management.

    A member of the AAFP since 1995, Brull has served the AAFP as chair of the Commission on Membership and Member Services and convener of the Working Group on Rural Health. She has served during the AAFP’s Congress of Delegates on the Reference Committees on Organization and Finance, and as the New Physician Constituency delegate to the AAFP Congress of Delegates. At the state level, Brull has served the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians in various leadership roles including president-elect, president and board chair. She has also served as a Kansas delegate to the AAFP Congress of Delegates.

    Brull earned her Bachelor of Art degrees in biology and chemistry from the University of Kansas in Lawrence. She earned her medical degree from the University of Kansas School of Medicine in Kansas City. She completed her residency program at the Family Medicine Residency Program of Topeka, where she served as chief resident.

    She is board certified by the American Board of Family Medicine and has the AAFP Degree of Fellow, an earned degree awarded to family physicians for distinguished service and continuing medical education.