• AAFP Vaccine Science Fellowship

    About the Vaccine Fellowship

    This fellowship creates a group of family physicians interested in the science of vaccine development, production, and policy.  This program is designed for those who are mid-career in their professional development. The awards are granted to two fellows annually. Each fellow will work with mentors with experience in immunization policy and issues.

    • The fellowship is for one year with the commitment from their institution and/or department chair that they will allow the time to complete the fellowship from May 1, 2024–April 30, 2025.
    • Each fellow will devote approximately 10% FTE for one year (22 days), including travel to fellowship activities. A nominal stipend will be provided.
    • Mentors will guide and assist with education-related vaccine science, policy and family medicine. 
    • Fellows will participate on monthly calls to discuss immunization policies, recommendations, barriers, trends, shortages, concerns, etc.  
    • Fellows will develop a self-study project. This project could be poster presentations, articles, research projects, education outreach, etc. The project will be disseminated to the AAFP membership, public health officials, other immunization organizations, etc.
    • Fellows are required to travel for vaccine-related meetings. View the travel schedule. Travel costs will be covered under the fellowship.
      Note: Fellows are required to attend one of the following Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices meetings: June 26-28, 2024 or October 23-24, 2024 in Atlanta, GA In Person OR Virtually.  


    Fellowship Graduates

    Graduates have expressed appreciation for the program and the opportunity to develop expertise in policies and practices of immunizations, which has been applied in services to their patients, practice, and community.

    James Loehr, MD, FAAFP (Ithaca, NY)
    Everett W. Schlam, MD (Franklin Lakes, NJ)

    John Epling, MD, MSEd, FAAFP (Roanoke, VA)
    Margot L. Savoy, MD, MPH, FAAFP (Wilmington, DE)

    Chris Lupold, MD (Lancaster, PA)
    Mary Pat Friedlander, MD (Pittsburgh, PA)

    Nina Ahmad, MD (Orlando, FL)
    Melissa Martinez, MD, FAAFP (Albuquerque, NM)

    Kimberly Stump, MD, MSc (Salem, OR)
    Amra Resic, MD, FAAFP (Palm Harbor, FL)

    Madalyn Schaefgen, MD FAAFP (Allentown, PA)
    Adora Otiji, MD, MPH (Upper Marlboro, MD)

    Anne Schneider, DO (Lombard, IL)
    Lisa Doggett, MD, MPH, FAAFP (Austin, TX)

    Neha D. Chande, MD, MHS (Santa Monica, CA)
    Llewellyn Mensah, MD, MPH & TM (Gastonia, NC)

    Elizabeth Rosenblum, MD (San Diego, CA)
    Paul Hunter MD (Milwaukee, WI)

    Jeff Moore, MD (Merrill, WI)
    Pamela Rockwell, DO (Ann Arbor, MI)

    Jennifer Hamilton, MD, PhD (Pittsburg, PA)
    Robin O'Meara, MD (Grand Rapids, MI)

    David Cope, MD (Bountiful, UT)
    John Merrill-Steskal, MD (Ellensburg, WA)

    Laura Morris, MD, FAAFP (Columbia, MO)
    Mina Khan, MD (Oneonta, AL)

    Gretchen LaSalle, MD, FAAFP (Spokane, WA)
    Eugene Schiff, MD, MPH (Bronx, NY)
    Michele Zawora, MD, FAAFP (North Wales, PA)

    Carlos O’Bryan-Becerra, MD, FAAFP (Ventura, CA)
    James Bigham, MD, MPH, FAAFP (Madison, WI)

    The AAFP Vaccine Science Fellowship Program is funded by an unrestricted grant from Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp.